Zanetor, Oppong Nkrumah win

Dr Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings and Kojo Oppong Nkrumah have won the parliamentary seats in their respective constituencies in the December 7 presidential and parliamentary elections.

While Dr Rawlings won the Klottey Korle seat for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) by beating the New Patriotic Party’s Philip Addison, Mr Oppong Nkrumah won the Ofoase Ayirebi constituency beating the NDC’s Tom Kenneth Budu.

Meanwhile, MPs Alban Bagbin, K.T. Hammond, and Kennedy Agyapong have all retained their seats in this year’s general elections. Mr Bagbin, who is the majority leader in parliament, won with 6,923 votes, according to provisional results.

The People’s National Convention’s Bernard Mornah got 1,917 votes while the candidate of the main opposition New Patriotic Party got 419 votes.

Mr Bagbin has been in parliament for the past 24 years. He has won the seat for seven consecutive times.

He beat NPP’s Dr Boye Bandie with 3,900 votes in 2012,

Below are more results of some MPs who have lost or retained their seats [Provisional Results]:

Baba Jamal – Akwatia
Alhaji Amadu Sorogho – Madina
Murtala Muhammed – Nanton
Sena Okiti-Duah – Ledzokuku
Seidu Danaa – Wa East
Upper West Regional Minister Alhaji Amidu Suleman – Sisala West

Some first-time winners:

Sam Nartey George – Ningo Prampram
Buaben Asamoah – Adentan
Kojo Oppong Nkrumah – Ofoase Ayirebi
Dr Okoe Boye – Ledzokuku
Anthony Karbo – Lawra
Okoe Vanderpuije – Ablekuma South


Assin Central – Kennedy Agyapong
Alexander Afenyo Markin
Alban Bagbin – Nadowli-Kaleo
KT Hammond – Adansi Asokwa
Boakye Agyarko Kyeremanteng

What do you think?

Parliamentary projections: New entrants and fallen giants

Heavy security at EC as NPP protests to demand election results