President John Dramani Mahama and the Prime Minister of Norway, Ms Erna Solberg, have been appointed Co-Chairs of a group of sixteen (16) eminent Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Advocates to support the Secretary-General in his efforts to generate momentum and commitment to achieve the SDGs by 2030.

The SDGs adopted by world leaders at the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit on 25 September 2015 represents a commitment by all nations to work together to end poverty, achieve shared prosperity, build peace, and secure a life of dignity and a healthy planet for present and future generations.

United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon who announced the appointment in New York today said the “16 Advocates will leverage their unique standing and leadership to promote the SDGs as part of an ambitious and transformative global agenda.”

Working as champions of advocacy, the SDG Advocates will promote the universal character of the SDGs, including their commitment to leave no one behind; promote the engagement of new stakeholders in the implementation and financing of the SDGs; encourage partnerships with governments, civil society and private sector to share knowledge and resources; and raise awareness for the integrated nature of the SDGs.


His Excellency Mr. John Dramani Mahama, President of the Republic of Ghana

Her Excellency Ms. Erna Solberg, Prime Minister of Norway


Her Majesty Queen Mathilde of Belgium

Her Royal Highness Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden

Mr. Richard Curtis, Screenwriter, Producer and Film Director

Ambassador Dho Young-Shim. Chairperson, United Nations World Tourism Organization’s Sustainable Tourism for Eliminating Poverty Foundation

Ms. Leymah Gbowee, Director Gbowee Peace Foundation

Mr. Jack Ma, Founder and Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group

Mrs. Graça Machel, President, Foundation of Community Development and the UNESCO National Commission in Mozambique

Ms. Alaa Murabit, Founder, the Voice of Libyan Women

Mr. Paul Polman, Chief Executive Officer, Unilever

Professor Jeffrey Sachs, Director, Earth Institute at Colombia University

Ms. Shakira Mebarak, Artist/Singer Songwriter/Advocate

Mr. Forest Whitaker, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative

Professor Muhammad Yunus, Founder, Grameen Bank

Written by Web Master

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Parliament reconvenes after 2-week break

Gambia crisis: Nana Addo erred in deploying troops – MP