Nduom, Konadu, Ayariga, Dr. Mahama disqualified

The Electoral Commission has disqualified eleven presidential nominees who presented their filing fee and documents to the Commission based on various reasons.

The Chairperson of the EC Charlotte Osei who announced this gave various reasons for this decision.

The presidential nominees include All People’s Congress’s Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC), Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP), Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP), Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD), Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidate Popular Party (GCPP), Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party), Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwesi Adae Odike of the United Progressive Party’s nomination is on hold pending a court case.

READ ALSO: EC rejects IPP’s parliamentary filing fees

The Chair of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei cited some irregularities on their forms which includes fraudulent signatures, the absence of required number of signatures, the improper filing of nomination forms, among others as the reasons for their disqualification.

In the case of Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom did not meet the number of subscribers demanded to sign his document.

READ ALSO: EC accepts CPP’s 50k filing fee

Meanwhile, Odike, has been given up to Friday, 14 October to deal with the court case or count himself out of the race completely.

Mrs Osei said some of the false information provided by the nominees and people who signed for them will be reported to the police for a possible arrest and prosecution.

Those whose nominations have been accepted include President John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah – an independent aspirant.

What do you think?

EC Rejects 12 Presidential Candidates And Accepts Four

President Mahama, Nana Addo, And Greenstreet cleared for 2016 polls