NCA to shut down 49 illegal TV Stations

The National Communications Authority (NCA) has embarked on an exercise to shut down 49 Television (TV) stations for operating without Authorisations.

This forms part of a continuous monitoring exercise conducted on various Satellite Free-to-Air Television platforms using the Broadcast Monitoring System (BMS) and the Radio Spectrum Monitoring System (RSMS). The monitoring revealed that some channels were operating without valid Authorisations, contrary to Section 2(4) of the Electronic Communications Act 775 of 2008, which states that, ‘Except as provided by this Act or any other law not inconsistent with this Act, a person shall not operate. a broadcasting system or provide a broadcasting service without a frequency authorisation by the Authority’.

As a result, forty-nine (49) channels have been identified to be operating without valid Authorisations from the Authority and is being shut down accordingly.

Below is the list of TV Stations who have been identified to be in violations and are due to be shut down:

List of Satellite Television Channels Found to be in Default
No. Broadcast Channel Operator/Company
1 Dove TV Sophia Ocansey Dba Dove Television
2 NTV North Television Ltd
3 Thunder TV (Agradaa) Thunder TV Ltd
4 Power TV Prime Power Multimedia Ltd
5 Maranatha TV Afodai Multimedia
6 MTA Al Shirkatul Islamyyah Ltd
7 Chief TV Chief Television Network
8 Kiss TV (satellite) TV2 Networks
9 Sagani TV Mr Alhaji Razak Idrissu D.B.A
10 Ogyaba TV Emmanuel Boakye
11 Nazareth TV Victhun Hogcoan Multimedia
12 CACI TV CACI Television Limited
13 Ahotosour TV Prince Ohene Zodek Dba Ahotosour TV
14 BOC TV BOC Multimedia Broadcasting Ltd
15 OK TV OK TV Limited
16 Cash TV (satellite) TV2 Networks
17 Lion TV TV2 Network Limited
18 Akwasi Awuah TV Akwasi Awuah TV
19 Eno TV Mefri Ghana Limited
20 Apple TV Apple Inpak Media Company Limited
21 SBN TV Shalom Broadcasting Network Limited
22 Agya Kofabae TV Agya Kofabae Television Limited
23 Next TV Next TV Ghana Limited
24 Face TV (Aflao TV) The Business Plus Ghana Co. Limited
25 Paradise TV Vimens Multimedia Co Ltd
26 SBN International SBN International
27 Adzipa TV Beam Impact Multimedia
28 Ice1 TV Thunder Television Limited
29 Ezra TV Ezra Communications Limited
30 Truth TV Heritage Christian College Media Center
31 Royal Star TV Felicia Larbi Dba Royal Star Movie Production
32 Virgin TV Guankobeakro Prayer Ministry
33 Days TV Damfo Adu Construction Limited
34 Serwaa TV Serwaa Memorial Television Services Ltd
35 Iron TV Iron Television Limited
36 JA1 TV JA1 TV Limited
37 Abapa TV Goaso Television Services Limited
38 Asempa TV Zakari Salifu Dba Zakari Enterprise
39 BTV Bempah TV Limited
40 Kwaku Bonsam TV Kofi O Kofi
41 Asomdwie TV Asomdwie Television
42 TV Magic Gyamfi’s Akasanoma One Media Limited
43 Channel 45 365 Frontier Management Limited
44 Perfect TV Bejoma Pharmacy
45 Anima TV KK Travel Consult Limited
46 Obour TV Now Elijah TV Plus Obuor Multimedia
47 TV Universe Mr. Evans Kumi Wadewor Dba Innovative Technics Of Creativity Productions
48 Apinto TV / Time TV Apinto Media Limited
49 Obour TV Plus House Of Power Multimedia

The exercise is being done in conjunction with the Ghana Police Service and National Security Intelligence Operatives.

The NCA will continue monitoring to ensure that the use of spectrum is done in an efficient manner. We also take the opportunity to caution all Licence and Authorisation holders to ensure that their Licences and Authorisations are always up-to-date and in compliance with the stated terms and conditions.

Written by Web Master

NDC boycotts IPAC meeting to review 2020 presidential and parliamentary polls

Dr. Bawumia celebrates Chief Imam as he turns 102 today