Mubarak Muntaka retains Asawasi seat for NDC

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) Parliamentarian for the Asawasi constituency in Kumasi, Alhaji Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka has retained his seat. He polled 39,095 as against 33,490 by the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) Alhaji Alidu Seidu.

Judging by Asawasi standards, Muntaka won by a close shave.

In 2012 Muntaka retained the seat with a difference of about 12,904 votes as against that of the NPP’s, Nana Okyere Tawiah Antwi but in 2016, the NPP has reduced the difference to 5605.

Muntaka won in 2012 with 43,917 votes as against Nana Antwi’s 31,013.

The Asawasi seat since its creation in 2004 has remained an NDC seat. It was carved out of the former Asokwa East (now Oforikrom) constituency which used to be occupied by the NPP.

The other contesting candidates at Asawasi in 2016 were the Progressive Peoples Party’s (PPP) Baba Kompo who got 278 whilst the Convention Peoples Party candidate got 111.


To Top