Majority of members from both sides believed in your competence even at the stage of voting – Akufo-Addo to new Ministers

5th April 2023

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has commended the Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin for he handled the vetting and subsequent approval of the new ministers by the House.

Parliament on Friday, 24 March 2023, voted in favour of all six of President Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees.

Despite the 137:137-split legislature, all the six nominees obtained more votes to offset the anticipated stalemate, thus, leading to their approval by parliament.

The new ministers are Adansi Asokwa lawmaker K.T Hammond as Minister of Trade and Industry, who replaces Alan Kyerematen, who resigned some weeks ago to focus on his presidential bid.

He will be deputised by Nhyiaeso MP Stephen Amoah.

Abetifi MP Bryan Acheampong replaces resigned Agric Minister Owusu Afriyie Akoto, who is vying for the flagbearer slot of the governing New Patriotic Party.

Former Information Minister Stephen Asamoah Boateng is returning as the Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs while Mr Osei Bonsu Amoah, MP for Akuapem South, in now a Minister of State at the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development where he has, until his recent elevation, been serving as a deputy.

Also, Karaga MP Mohammed Amin Adam is now the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

He replaces Mr Charles Adu Boahen who was sacked by the President following a corruption exposè by investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Jubilee House, Tuesday, 4 April 2023, President Akufo-Addo said: “Let me thank the Rt Honorable Speaker and the Members of Parliament for the thorough manner in which they have dealt with your vetting and subsequent approval.”

The President reminded the new ministers that majority of Parliamentarians have faith in their ability to deliver in their various Ministries, the reason they were approved.

“Even at the stage of voting on the floor of the House, the majority of members from both sides of the divide believed in your competence and went ahead to give you the nod,” the President noted.

He further noted: “Your various competencies, experience and talents make this distinctly possible.”

The President further reminded the new Ministers of their work quality in their new roles.

“To this end, I remind you that the quality of integrity that would permeate your work is extremely important.

“You have to remember at all times the solemn commitment that we in the New Patriotic Party have made collectively and individually to serve the Ghanaian people honestly and competently,” the President added.

Written by Web Master

CODEO calls for resignation of newly appointed EC Board members

Akufo-Addo swears in 5 new Ministers and a deputy