EC to begin balloting positions for qualified aspirants

The Electoral Commission has announced that it has ended the nomination process and will soon conduct ballots for the four remaining candidates cleared to contest in the December 2016 elections.

Communications Director of the EC, Eric Dzakpasu who made this known said the ballot will determine where each of the candidate, John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress, Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party, Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party and an independent candidate, Jacob Osei Yeboah [JOY] will be placed on the ballot paper.

He said the EC is yet to come out with the appropriate date to conduct the ballots.

Ballot positions picked by the political parties at the national level would often be replicated at the constituency levels.

Balloting for positions on the ballot paper has often been keenly anticipated, since political parties use their positions on the ballot paper to coin attractive political slogans to attract more votes.

Presidential candidates had the option to be there in person or delegate their representatives.

Flagbearers who are able to successfully complete the electoral process for filing nomination papers are the ones that qualify to participate in the balloting.

The EC on Monday announced the disqualification of 12 candidates including The Peoples National Convention’s (PNC) Dr. Edward Nasigri Mahama, the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP)’s Dr. Papa Kwesi Ndoum, the All Peoples Congress, Hassan Ayariga, and the National Democratic Party (NDP)’s Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings for failing to meet the criteria for filing as president.

Many of the affected candidates, including the National Democratic Party and the All People’s Congress, have threatened to sue the EC over the move

What do you think?

NPP Launches “ALL DIE BE DIE” In Suhum

You are sick with Prostate cancer – Editor Of Africa-Watch Tells Akufo Addo