If you believe EC has lost credibility, you have a problem – Asiedu Nketia

NDC General Secretary Johnson Asiedu Nketia has rejected criticisms that the Electoral Commission is not credible, pointing out that the Commission has unquestionable institutional memory and experience.

He is at a loss at to why the opposition should raise questions about the EC’s credibility although its seven-member board has been the same since 2004 with the exception of two new appointments.

President John Mahama appointed Charlotte Osei as the chairperson in June 2015, a historic first for a female chairperson.

The first female Deputy Chairman of the Commission Georgina Opoku Amankwa was also appointed by President John Mahama in July 2013 to replace Sarfo-Kantanka who had served for about 20 years.

The opposition has been persistent in criticising the Charlotte Osei-led Electoral Commission. They say she favours the governing NDC.

But finding this claim bemusing, Asiedu Nketia said under president John Agyekum Kufuor, four commissioners were appointed.
“Heaven did not break lose” he said.

According to him, two of the four members Mrs. Paulina Adobea Dadzawa, and a Management Consultant Ebenezer Aggrey Fynn are administrators.
The other two are Nana Amba Eyiiba I, Efutuhemaa and Eunice Akweley Roberts were all appointed by President Kufuor in February 2004.

Johnson Asiedu Nketia also known as ‘General Mosquito’ noted that despite the four appointments made by Kufuor, it did not stop the EC from discharging their duties professionally.

He said despite Kufuor’s appointments the Commission still declared the NDC candidate John Evans Atta Mills as winner of the December 2008 general elections.

Going further into history, Asiedu Nketia said all seven members of the board were appointed by President Jerry John Rawlings when it was first constituted in 1992.

Yet their appointments did not prevent the EC from declaring the opposition NPP as winner of the 2000 general elections, he said.
“Heaven again did not break lose” he stressed.

Fastforwarding to 2016, Asiedu Nketia expressed surprise that “just by the changing of one person… suddenly the commission has lost its credibility”
He said if any person believes this claim “then you have a problem”.

The facts however show, the NDC has made three appointments to the Electoral Commission since it was elected in 2009.

Deputy Chairman Sulley Amadu was appointed by John Evans Atta Mills following the retirement of David Kangah who had served in that capacity for 19 years.

President Mahama followed up with two other appointments, Georgina Opoku Amankwa and the current chairperson, Charlotte Osei.


What do you think?

Montie 3 are more popular than Akufo Addo- Joseph Yamin

NPP activists attempted to poison me in prison – ‘Mugabe’