Audio Visual Rights Society of Ghana dissolves old board

Members of the Audio Visual Rights Society of Ghana, also referred to as ARSOG, have passed a resolution at a crunch meeting to remove the board of directors whose term of office expired in 2021 but were still in office.

The Chairman, Mr. Zakaria Abdulai, who led the meeting at the Teachers Hall in Accra, declared the intention of the meeting — by citing clauses 11, 13, and 15 of ARSOG’s Constitution which references: the terms of office of the board, their powers, duties, and filling of vacancy.

Out of the eight (8) old board members, five (5) who attended the meeting accepted that their tenure of office has expired, and that they are in support of any new decision the members take.

The old Directors removed were: Mr. Kofi Owusu Ohemeng, Mr. Emmanuel Sarpong, Mr. Augustine Abbey, Mr. Evans Kumi Wadewor, Mr.
Christopher Nimo, Mr. Ahmed Saani, Mr. Taju Yusif, and Mrs. Mercy Agyeman Duah.

After dissolving the old board, a three (3) interim board which comprises of: Mr. Alex Boateng, Mr. Godfred Quansah, and Mr. Sadique Kamil, were appointed to oversee the election of a new board within three (3) months.

The old board members were elected in 2018. They failed to hold meetings as demanded by the Constitution, and also failed to hand over power in 2021 when their term ended.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Timi Frank to Tinubu: You cannot stop CIA, FBI from doing their job

Apologise to Volta Region for misguided vote comment – Minority to Akufo-Addo