Ato Forson speaks on his appointment as Minority Leader

26th January 2023

The Member of Parliament for Ajumako Enyan Esiam, Dr.

Cassiel Ato Forson, has expressed appreciation to the leadership of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) for his appointment as the leader of the party’s caucus in parliament.

A letter to the Speaker of Parliament signed by General Secretary Fifi Kwetey announced Dr Forson as the new leader.

This means Mr Haruna Iddrisu is no more the leader of the caucus in parliament.

Dr Forson is to be assisted by Mr Emmanual Armah Kofi Buah as Deputy Minority Leader.

The former Minister of Petroleum replaces Mr James Klutse Avedzi, the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.

The statement named a new Minority Chief Whip in the person of Mr Kwame Agbodza, who replaces Mr Muntaka Mubarak.

The First Deputy Whip remains Mr Ibrahim Ahmed and the Second Deputy Whip remains Comfort Doyoe Ghansah.

The statement said the “new leadership would be charged to recommend consequential changes in the Ranking membership to the headquarters of the party for approval”.

In a post on Facebook, Dr Forson said: “I am honoured and humbled to have been chosen to lead our illustrious and gallant caucus in Parliament” and “I thank the leadership of our party who have placed their trust and confidence in me”.

“I am also deeply grateful to colleagues, the rank and file of our party and the Ghanaian people for their profound support and solidarity”, he noted.

The former deputy finance minister said: “I have held fruitful and positive conversations with my senior brother Hon. Haruna Iddrisu. I commend him for his admirable stewardship when he was granted the opportunity by our party’s leadership”.

He promised: “As leader, it will be my duty to represent our collective goals with unwavering dedication and high integrity. I have no doubt that with your support we shall succeed”.

Meanwhile, the change in leadership has split the minority caucus into two – those who support the old guard and those who endorse the new leadership.

In a petition to the party, the group of MPs who want the status quo to remain said: “We the undersigned NDC Members of Parliament have taken note of a letter signed by our party General Secretary Fifi Kwetey, dated 23/01/23 and addressed to the Speaker of Parliament. The letter purportedly makes changes to the leadership of our caucus. With all due respect to the leadership of our party at all levels, we wish to request that they patiently broaden and deepen consultations on the subject again, because we have doubts about how thorough the process was”.

“We are concerned that this critical decision didn’t seem to have taken into consideration the unity of purpose and focus our caucus requires to deal with; the Electoral Commission’s intentions to introduce a new CI, the government’s IMF negotiations and its intended reintroduction of the ‘Agyapa deal’ before the House. We also think this decision would have unintended consequences as we go into our parliamentary primaries.”

“Until then, without disregarding the content of the letter signed by the General Secretary of our party and without malice towards our colleagues proposed as new leaders, we, the undersigned NDC members of parliament, resolve to stand by our current leadership, until the process of consultation is satisfactory to all concerned.”


Written by Web Master

No time to make heroes out of nonentities – Cletus Avoka unhappy with minority reshuffle

Ato Forson commends Haruna Iddrisu for his ‘admirable’ stewardship