Anas Exposé: 3 more magistrates dismissed

The Judicial Council has further released the names of three Magistrates who have been removed from office without benefits following a resolution at its Emergency Meeting last week.

This followed their indictment in the recent judicial corruption scandal exposed by investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

A statement signed by the Judicial Secretary, Justice Opoku Acheampong said the three have been dismissed on grounds of stated misbehavior under Article 151(1) of the 1992 Constitution.Their names were given as Kaakyire Atta Owusi, Isaac Amoah and Stepehn Azuure.

According to the statement, the names of the three were left out when the Council announced its unanimous decision last week to remove from office 20 out of the 21 Circuit Court Judges and District Magistrates investigated by the Disciplinary Committee for their involvement in allegations of bribery by Tigereyepi.

The explanation was that the letters informing them of the Judicial Council’s resolution to remove them from office had not reached them at the time the announcement was made.

Meanwhile, Mr Kofi Kyere, who is a High Court Registrar has also been dismissed without benefits by the Judicial Council for stated misbehaviour under Article 151 (1) of the 1992 Constitution according to the statement.

He was among the list of Judicial Service staff cited in the Tigereyepi petition. The statement also said that disciplinary action has been taken against the some junior staff who were cited in the petition.

They are Peace Abuadzi, Circuit Court Registrar, Daniel Dzata, District Court Registrar, Elias Nkansah, Assistant Registrar and Eric Ayensu, a Messenger.

According to the statement, they were investigated by a Committee set up by the Judicial Secretary in accordance with Regulation 27 (2) of the Judicial Service Regulations, 1963 (L.I. 319) and have subsequently been dismissed pursuant to section 17 of the Judicial Service Act, 1960 (C.A.10).

The decision to dismiss Peace Abuadzi and Daniel Dzata according to the statement have been confirmed by the Chief Justice in accordance with Regulation 27 (2) of the Judicial Service Regulations, 1963 (L.I. 319).

It explained that the Disciplinary Committee did not establish any act of misconduct against Benjamin Agyepong, a driver of the Service, who was also cited in the petition by Tigereyepi. His interdiction has therefore been lifted with immediate effect.

Written by Web Master

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Umar Farooq Zahoor is not a bother to Ghana/AMERI deal – Gov’t

Ayew in final 3 for African Player of the Year award