AG seeks review of transition committee membership

Parliament is considering the Presidential transition bill which will see the number of committee members slashed to 13 from the current 22.

Attorney General Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong told Parliament Thursday the Bill will deal with the loopholes in the existing transition process.

She said the passage of the Bill also provides enough time for smooth transition from one government to another.

“The bill contains provisions that will ensure an effective and smooth presidential transition. The bill provides for the situation where the transition involves an incumbent president who has been re-elected as president. In that case the number of members of the transition team is to be reviewed from 22 to 13 persons.

“This will help reduce the attendant cost relating to persons appointed to the transition team. Where the members of the transition team number 13, a quorum of one-third is specified. This is to make easier for the transition to do business,” she noted.

She continued: “In the bid to address the issue of the membership of the advisory council in a situation where the incumbent is re-elected, the bill proposes that the advisory council shall be constituted by the president selecting two persons in addition to the speaker of parliament.”

What do you think?

Bring Back Afoko And Others Or Forget About Me…Kwabena Agyepong Insists

Religious Leaders Praise EC’s Decision To Prolong Re-Registration Exercise