24 MP aspirants disqualified in Ashanti

The Electoral Commission of Ghana has disqualified twenty-four parliamentary aspirants from contesting in the upcoming parliamentary elections in the Ashanti region.

This comes after the Commission on Monday disqualified 13 presidential aspirants from the December polls.

Reports by Daily Graphic indicate that 240 aspirants who filled their nomination at the close of filling last Friday, only 219 were cleared to represent their respective political parties as parliamentary candidates in the elections.

The 24 aspirants were disqualified on different grounds of inappropriate completion of their forms.

There are 47 parliamentary seats in the Ashanti region to be contested for in the 2016 parliamentary elections.

The two major political parties, National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) are the only political parties to have candidates contesting for all 47 seats.

‘Ayariga’s APC, PPP, PNC others disqualified from 2016 polls’

The Electoral Commission on Monday disqualified Hassan Ayariga’s All People’s Congress (APC), the People’s National Convention’s (PNC) Dr. Edward Mahama, the Progressive People’s Party’s (PPP) Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, and other aspirants from contesting in the December elections.

The Electoral Commission Chairperson, Charlotte Osei, who made the announcement at a news conference, said those disqualified failed to meet the necessary requirements that makes them eligible to contest.

There were different reasons for which each of the parties were disqualified.

‘Protest over disqualification’

Some of the political parties whose candidates were disqualified from the Presidential race have initiated legal actions against the Commission to get it to reverse its decision and instate them in the race.

Written by Web Master

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Deputy Power Minister John Jinapor supports to Central Gonja GES

EC denies disqualifying 24 MPs in Ashanti Region