I would’ve been very happy if EC had disqualified Nana Addo – Asiedu Nketia

General Secretary of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) has expressed satisfaction at the decision of the Electoral Commission to disqualify twelve Presidential Candidates from contesting the 2016 polls.

According to Johnson Asiedu Nketia, though the EC has exercised its rights, he would have been the happiest man on earth if the flagbearer of the biggest opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo was equally disqualified.

“I think the EC has done what it deemed right and so we need to accept that as political parties. Though I would have been very sad if the EC chair rejected President Mahama, I would be very happy and the happiest man on earth if Nana Addo was booted out because he is our closest contender” he stated.

12 of the Presidential hopefuls in the 2016 elections were Monday disqualified by the Electoral Commission after the commission okayed just four as fit to contest the race.

Those whose nominations have been accepted include President John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah – an independent aspirant.

Dr. Hassan Ayariga’s All People’s Congress(APC), Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC), Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP), Mr Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP), Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD), Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) have all been disqualified.

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party), Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Mr Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), Mr Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwesi Adae Odike of the United Progressive Party’s nomination is on hold pending a court case.

The Chair of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei cited filing anomalies including fraudulent signatures, absence of required number of signatures, improper filling of nomination forms, among others as the reasons for their disqualification.

Mrs Osei said the EC will recommend criminal prosecution against some of the persons who provided fraudulent information for the nominees.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top