Cristiano Ronaldo crowned FIFA Player of the Year


Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the FIFA Player of the Year, following a season his Real Madrid won the UEFA Champions League and his national team Portugal won the European Championship.
Cristiano Ronaldo crowned FIFA Player of the Year

Ronaldo, 31 beat off competition from Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Argentina and Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid and France to win the most prestigious award in world football.
Cristiano Ronaldo crowned FIFA Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo played a crucial role as Real beat city rivals Atletico Madrid in May to become European champions for a record-extending 11th time.

Then two months later, Portugal triumphed at Euro 2016 in France to claim a major trophy for the first time – despite losing their talisman to injury early on in the final.

Ronaldo ended the year with 55 goals in 57 games for club and country but it was his success in the two big tournaments of the year that ultimately saw him claim the prize ahead of his rivals.
FIFA ended their six-year association with the Ballon d’Or in 2016, deciding to do it alone.

Prior to the union between the two organisations the Ballon d’Or was known as the European Footballer of the Year from 1956 whilst FIFA created their World Player of the Year prize in 1991.
The awards co-existed until they merged in 2010, only to split last year and leave the world’s best vying for two separate trophies after the decision was made by Gianni Infantino, FIFA president.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top