Live Broadcast

Live updates: Ghana Music Awards 2016 (Video)

Welcome to the live updates of the 2016 Vodafone Ghana Music Award which is the 17th Edition. It is a night to celebrate the best in Ghanaian music.

20:50 : Event started with a choir and Rapper EL singing his hit song ‘Koko’.

20:55 : MCs for the night are actors Chris Attoh and Naa Ashorkor…what are your thoughts? You think they will rock it?

reggie20:57 : It is Multimedia’s DJ Black warming the auditorium with his mixes….

21:00 : You can watch the live stream below:

21:00 : MUSIGA 2016 Peace Song Initiative Award to be presented by Obour

21:02 : Won by New Generation Gospel Ministers win the award. Joe Mettle receives the award on behalf of the group

21:06 : Traditional Artiste of the Year.

21:07 : Tesa Music Group wins Traditional Artiste of the Year. Group member receiving the award from Elizabeth Ofosu-Agyare, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts and Bice Osei Kuffour

21:10 : Instrumentalist of the Year goes to Justice Williams

21:11 Sound Engineer of the Year Award goes to Kaywa

21:12 Best Music for Development is next goes to Gasmilla who walks home with a cheque or ¢5000.

21:16 Wins Lifetime Achievement Award goes to evergreen veteran musician AB Crentsil who gets ¢5,000 from the Ministry of Tourism.

21:19 Obour and AB perform to thrill fans inside the auditorium. Oh dear! It is a nice feeling to remember Obour can still sing. MUSIGA boss please hit the studio soon. We miss those punchlines.

21:27 Stonebwoy is up next to perform. He gives a wonderful live version of his hits songs including Higher after which he pays tribute to his late mother.

21:45 Kofi Kinaata wins Songwriter of the Year

21:47 Nicholas Omane Acheampong wins Gospel Artiste of the Year

21:48 Next Award is Highlife Artiste of the Year which goes to Bisa KDei’s fans favorite ‘Mansa’ track. He dedicates the award to his late mum who he said died the day the video to the track was released.

21:57 MCs for the night Naa Ashorkor and Chris take their turn to show their rap skills on the stage. Naa Ashorkor was on the flow doing some Sarkodie line…girl must think of trying her hands on rap.

21:57 Adomaa who won the Unsung Artiste of the Year… She is up next

22:00: Bisa KDei performs his Mansa. His performance tonight is an improvement


22:15 Sarkodie wins Hiphop Song of the Year with Hand to Mouth. I thought I saw Sarkodie laughing when Naa Ashorkor was doing her freestyle. Why didn’t he come up for his award?

22:18 Hiplife Song of the Year is next goes to Atom’s ‘Y3 wo Kurom’. Did they have to take all those people to say thank you?

22:20 Afropop Song of the Year goes to EL’s ‘Menabo po’…

22:25 Kofi Kinata performs some of his tracks. The live band did not bring out his best. A lot of the artistes are missing out on bringing out the kick in their live performances to thrill fans.

22:35 Neosoul artiste Efya is up on stage. She looks stunning in her long flowing dress and moving beautifully to the instrumentals. She starts with her popular Obianuju cover. We were looking forward to her singing the phonebook…

22:48 Gospel artiste of the Year goes to SP Kofi Sarpong wins. Dedicates the award to a peaceful election.

22:50 Highlife Artiste of the Year goes to Bisa KDei who said he was very happy this evening. Can you blame him?

22:52 Hiphop/Hiplife Artiste of the Year goes to EL. We can’t get you popopo! EL tells the story of when he was an underground artist and Obour gave him a studio to start recording.

22:55 Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year goes to Stonebwoy…boyfriend is going Higher and Higher tonight!!!! Which airline is he flying on…

23:00 R2Bees are up on stage doing dishing the tracks like there is no tomorrow.

23:12 Best Female Vocalist of the Year goes to MzVee. She thanks Efya for the inspiration.

23:14 Best Male Vocalist of the Year goes to Pat Thomas. Track is Bra on Sarkodie’s Mary album.

23:15 Best Rapper of the Year goes to Sarkodie, ‘Hand to Mouth’

23:17 African Artiste of the Year goes to Wizkid who thanks his fans and all his crew at Legendary Music.

23:43 Best music Video Of The year -EL

00:03Record Of the year – Sarkodie

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top